Eng. Anil Ranjith – The new President of CEBEU for the term 2021/2022

The Annual General Meeting of CEBEU for the term 2021/2022 was held on the 8th of February 2022 at Grand Ballroom of Water’s Edge Hotel Battaramulla. The AGM notice was read by the Jt. Secretary followed by the President’s Report and Treasurer’s accounts reports.

The outgoing President Eng. Saumya Kumarawadu asked the membership to appoint a Pro-Tempo President to continue the proceedings and Eng. Rohan Senevirathne (AGM-DD4) was proposed and seconded by the membership.

Eng. Rohan Senevirathne accepted the nominations for the new President for the term 2021/2022 and Eng. Anil Ranjith was unanimously appointed as the new President of the CEBEU for the term of 2021/2022. Eng. Nimal Silva was nominated and appointed unanimously by the house as the Vice-President. Eng. Dhammike Wimalarathne retained his position as one of the Jt. Secretaries and Eng. Eranga Kudahewa was appointed as the other Jt. Secretary. Eng. Vijayantha Weerasekara was appointed as the Treasurer of CEBEU term 2021/2022.

Eng. Shantha Perera was appointed as the Editor of CEBEU for the term 2021/2022 and Eng. Charitha Dayarathne (retaining the post for another year) and Eng. Isuru Kasthurirathne were appointed as Jt. Front Representatives of CEBEU term 2021/2022. Eng. Sudantha Hewage was appointed as the transfer board representative whilst Eng. Sisira Dissanayake and Eng. Thilina Dhanushka Guluwita retained their posts for another year as Mechanical Representative and Web Editor respectively of CEBEU for the term 2021/2022. Eng. Chathura Gunawardane was appointed as the Civil representative of CEBEU.

CEBEU extends their heartiest gratitude to the outgoing Head Table and the Executive Committee for their immense commitment towards the betterment of Electrical Engineers of CEB during the most difficult period of almost 18 months of their term where they not only had to battle with the Covid-19 pandemic but also had to face the crucial issues with the government, the board and as well as the top management of CEB.